Catching up – Apr. 21, 2020

Good day, friends.

It has been a couple of months now since my last entry. Life has drastically changed as usual for everyone given the covid 19 pandemic and the safety measures the government and we, ourselves have placed to prevent it as our main priority. Given these happenings and the lockdowns implemented on majority of our cities, I had the privilege of time to write this very quick (I tend to use very quick a lot) – update on our current situation.

Just recently, we and my wife (oh, I haven’t announced her here yet) have moved to a new place outside of metro Manila and now waiting for her to give birth to her first baby boy. We’re going to name him “Ziggy Leif Cayden” and we cannot wait to meet him in person; he means the world to me and my wife right now. My close friends and family are excited, as well.

For my work, I am still employed with TCS (India’s largest technology consulting firm) and have been assigned to a *bleep* client in the *bleep* domain space. Most of my work still revolves around web and API backend application development using Java and JS Frameworks. I cannot give further details on work but I have working on multiple facets of technology from analysis, development, testing, CICD and organising cross-skilling sessions for other engineers. I think I have been in the industry for 9 years now but I still see that there are still a lot of room to grow professionally, right now; softskills are as valuable while becoming more senior in the field.

On my past time, I have been reading and studying about bootstrapping small SaaS (software as a service) businesses in websites like indiehackers and getting ideas from posted jobs in upwork. I also listen technology podcasts occasionally.

I still use Twitter a lot to share articles that looks interesting to me (not to most of my followers, sorry).

My wife is nagging me again and have to attend to her. Until next time!

BR,

Eugene

Leave a comment